Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

It’s complicated

I am a non-traditional applicant in more ways than one. I graduated from undergrad 20 years ago (2.52 gpa) and got into a law school with a 154 score. Unfortunately, I lost a family member during my L1 year and just had no clue how to manage. I passed my classes but at the end of that year I didn’t make the attrition cutoff and was academically disqualified. Given the state I was already in, I took this failure pretty hard and thought that was the end of my dream.

I eventually returned to grad school and just this year completed my Masters with a 3.77 and want nothing more than to go to law school, but I have so many questions! Am I even permitted to apply? Or do I need to have the law school I attended agree to remove themselves from my LSAC records. Who should I be going to for help with my application? I find it really hard to believe that law schools would punish someone 20 years later for not being able to cope with L1 and bereavement, but I don’t know.

If anyone has any information on where I can get help and answers, I’d really appreciate it. If 7Sage admissions counseling is able to help with this, I’d gladly sign up. #help #admissionscounseling

Thanks

Comments

• Glutton for the LSATGlutton for the LSAT Alum Member
    551 karma

Hi @OneMoreTime!

Cool to hear you're coming back to law school and the LSAT. You should check out LSAC's law school admission requirements page, but the last time I heard, there was no age restriction for the LSAT if that's what you're thinking about.

I would recommend to listening to the 7Sage podcast for some helpful information. I'll link one episode here that might be relevant to you as a non-traditional and older student. The podcast episode features a similar student who is in his 40s, post-military career, and applying to law school.

• OneMoreTimeOneMoreTime Member
    23 karma