Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

RC remind me again...

shainabarbershainabarber Alum Member
in General 109 karma
I'm having trouble with RC. It used to be my strongest area, but I think I'm psyching myself out. During the Oct 3 there was one passage that I just couldn't understand, and kept starting over. It caused me to panic bc I knew time was ticking.

I am a working teacher, so I took my LSAT materials to a colleague who teaches English and, among other things, she insisted I really should read the questions before reading the passage, to increase understanding and to know what I'm looking for.

I told her that this is a discouraged strategy for the LSAT. I know I read that somewhere, but can't remember where. What do ya'll think? Read questions before passage, or no?

Comments

• brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    edited October 2015 1489 karma
    You're correct, it's discouraged.

1. Time is precious, too precious to waste on reading questions then reading the passage and then, inevitably, reading the questions a second time.

2. You should walk into the test with a clear idea of what the questions will look like anyway. There are no surprises here, you know you'll be asked main point, author's opinion, structural questions, etc.

Hope this helps! Sounds like you're on the right track.
  • blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    Hi @shainabarber! I'm a working teacher as well so PROPS TO YOU for studying while working -- it is not easy. I would argue most English teachers (which is my department) have no idea how different of the test the LSAT is -- it's nothing like they teach or have experienced in undergrad/in their credentialing program unless they once considered going to law school. Take their well-intentioned advice with a grain of salt. Like @brna0714 said, it's a time suck.
  • brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    1489 karma