Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Retake??

lalafiggylalafiggy Free Trial Member
in General 82 karma
Hey guys! First of all a huge thank you to the 7sage community -- you guys have definitely been instrumental throughout this whole LSAT monkey business. I started studying last year and sat for my first take in Dec. Maybe I was nervous, maybe game 3 was a doozy but I scored 165, which was 2 points below my diagnostic (Preptest A). I had been averaging 173/174 before Dec so I decided to retake. By February I was averaging 175/176 and ended up with a 173.

My concern is that I'm a splitter. My GPA (3.45) is well below the 25ths of most schools I'm looking at, so I know I have to pull off an LSAT in the 75th. Do I retake and try to pull a 175+? How bad does a third take look?

I'm not applying until fall of next year so I have plenty of time, but a retake would be significatly harder to arrange because I will be abroad and would have to travel to another country for a testing center.

Anyway, would a few more points be worth it?

*I am also URM, which might affect admission chances

Comments

• PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    You're at or above every LSAT median and at or above almost every LSAT 75th. CCN and below should all take you with a great app. I would guess you would catch one of HYS, probably H. A higher score might help catch H and S, but Y is likely out. Plus some of those top schools are not big on a third take. You tested within your range so it would likely be a bit of a crapshoot for you to increase again and it doesn't sound like it would be super easy to pull off given your situation. I'd say just start working on your school list, PS, LORs and anything else you can get ahead on. Good luck!
  • shizuokatwin379shizuokatwin379 Alum Member
    95 karma
    URM with a 173/3.45?

My guess is you are a shoe-in at any school you want.