Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Score plateaued

KateelaineKateelaine Alum Member
in General 172 karma

Sadly, my score has plateaued in the mid-high 150s range. I was in the 160s so I'm pretty discouraged. I've been studying for 7 months and take the exam in June. Any advice about how to get out of a score slump? I've worked through power score books, fox's prep, and used manhattan prep to pull up my logic games score.

Comments

• Zachary_PZachary_P Member
    659 karma

I ran into a similar plateau, and the thing that helped me break out of it was really taking blind review seriously. If you've fool proofed LG, then that part of your score should be somewhat constant. (If you haven't, then this is an easy first step; you should be missing less than 2 on every LG section). Beyond that, LR makes up half of the test, so giving these questions adequate time during BR is especially important. Whether it's a full timed PT or even just a section from an older exam, really dig in and try to understand why you are missing questions. That way you can identify trends. At mid-high 150's it may be a question type that you consistently miss. Or, if you're like me, it was learning to parse through thick grammar on some of the curve breaker questions. Either way, a thorough blind review can help with both of these! Best of luck!

• AllezAllez21AllezAllez21 Member Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    1917 karma

I agree with @Zachary_P about maximizing the effort you put into blind review. That will really make you reckon with how much material you have mastered.

I would also just very consciously think about how you solve questions. That is, think about the process and habits you employ to solve a question. It's hard to get on that meta level, but if you can slow down during some practice sets and really note how you go about solving a problem, you may be able to spot some bad habits you've developed.