https://classic.7sage.com/lsat_explanations/lsat-68-section-4-game-4/

I have a question about one of the rules...the rule says "S CAN be earlier than Q only if Q is third." I thought it is different from saying "S IS earlier than Q only if Q is third" so I thought S is not nec. to be earlier than Q or if we take the contrapositive of the rule, when Q is not third, we do not have to have Q-S.

But when I watched the video JY explained we actually treat it same as other rules that do not cantain CAN.

So we do not have to take it consideration? (the word "can")

0

2 comments

  • Saturday, Aug 13 2016

    Thanks,

    So..this is not true for MAY or others right?

    0
  • Saturday, Aug 13 2016

    Yeah, you are on the right track with your inquiry. Q in the third spot is the necessary condition for any variation of S-Q (which, from the onset really only works out to be two variations: S1-Q3 or S2-Q3). We then couple this with rule #1 and S2-Q3 is no longer a valid placement of the variables, leaving us with 1 valid way to have an S-Q arrangement: S1-Q3. It just so happens that we cannot have a valid world in which Q3 and Q-S. Given the first rule and the S-Y spacing.

    The deeper level of your question is that when a necessary condition has been fulfilled, the sufficient condition can either happen or not.

    0

Confirm action

Are you sure?