Logic Games - Getting worse instead of better

brittneyrizobrittneyrizo Member
in Logic Games 5 karma

Hi everyone! I have been studying via the 7sage syllabus for almost three months now and I absolutely love it. However, I find that I am struggling more with the logic games now than I did in my first test. (like I scored 60% correct on my first test and now I am scoring 25-30% correct).

Has this occurred to anyone? Is this common? I am wondering if I am getting too caught up on what is the appropriate method to solve the game rather than before I was just doing my best to solve? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have been printing copies and practicing the problems on repeat like JY suggested; however once I get to different types of mixed problems I panic and freeze and get in my head.

Any advise is greatly appreciated. I want to avoid getting negative on these - at first I was really hopeful I could master them and now I am beginning to doubt myself.

Comments

• Mellow_ZMellow_Z Alum Member
    1997 karma

You shouldn't be actively thinking about how to solve new games in relation to existing games. Solving old games is to build muscle memory, and to help you identify patterns and relationships. Once you build all of these skills up, with new games, the solutions should just "click" faster than they would otherwise. If you find you are thinking along the lines of "oh I remember how I solved game 2 on PT4.. how can I make this game like that one?", then you aren't being efficient, and you don't really understand the games at a good level. You should still be able to freely think about how to solve the games, you will just have more tools in your toolbox to help you solve it correctly and efficiently.

• SamiSami Live Member Sage 7Sage Tutor
    10774 karma

@brittneyrizo said: