Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Choosing between September and December LSAT

jreynoldsjreynolds Core Member

So I'm currently studying for the September LSAT, but wondering if the December one would be too late to take when it comes to the admissions process. Would it be better to take the September LSAT because it is right when the admissions cycle opens up?

Comments

• Achen165Achen165 Member
    656 karma

Depends on the type of schools you are applying to. Aiming for competitive tier-one/ivy league schools and already scoring in the 170's? If not, then it is probably in your best interest to take advantage of a couple more months of studying. December is not too late in the cycle...it is the first test (early), December being fine for either a second test or a first, February is considered 'later' and for some schools, the latest to accept. A great deal of schools accept June tests though...the only 'late' test because in some cases applications are due before you even know your own score.

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

@jreynolds said:
    So I'm currently studying for the September LSAT, but wondering if the December one would be too late to take when it comes to the admissions process. Would it be better to take the September LSAT because it is right when the admissions cycle opens up?

IT's always, ALWAYS going to be better to take when you can score higher. A 168 in December is going to beat out every 165 in September, all other things being equal.

• CinnamonTeaCinnamonTea Member
    550 karma

Hi @"Alex Divine" , this is the common advice I have heard, but I was wondering if there were any studies/data out there to prove this? Would it change if someone was in the 25th/50th/75th percentiles (for instance, someone in the 50th percentile in September and then 75th in December?