Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice on anxiety and discouragement about law school decisions?

caitlinfelisecaitlinfelise Alum Member
edited January 2019 in Law School Admissions 48 karma

All,

I've been obsessing over the my law school decision letters and received my first rejection the other day. I studied for the LSAT for nearly three years on and off with a full time job, and I took the exam 3 times. I'm ready to move on, but it's just been a painful process and even more anxiety-inducing as I'm waiting.

Any advice on how to deal with the anxiety and defeated feelings?

Comments

• BinghamtonDaveBinghamtonDave Alum Member 🍌🍌
    8689 karma

I think one thing you can take solace in is that others are also waiting. The process is difficult for sure. But we are going through it in a sense together!

• ChardiggityChardiggity Alum Member
    336 karma

Your numbers do not define you. It sucks that the schools choose them as their metric for who gets in and who doesn't, but you are not what you scored, whatever you scored. What would you say to an elementary kiddo who didn't score in the upper reaches on a standardized test? Be as kind to yourself as you would to them. You're going to go to law school, and you're going to get a law degree, and you're going to use it in a meaningful way. That is what matters, Friend!

• GeeVee03GeeVee03 Member
    28 karma

I'm totally in the same boat. Been studying for this on and off since 2016 with a full-time job, and I'm so ready to be done with it. I know it's really hard not to get discouraged, but I imagine that you did the best you could with the circumstances you had, and everyone's circumstances are different! The comment above is wonderful... "be as kind to yourself as you would to them."