Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Law Admissions Timeline Issue --Help!!

KelsoK13KelsoK13 Alum Member
edited June 2015 in General 21 karma
I really need some advice. My fiancee is in medical school, and will begin his residency when I begin law school. The way that residency works is that medical students pick where they apply, then are matched based on a ranking system. This means that he won't know where he will be for residency until the match day on March 18th.

Our original plan was for him to apply to residency programs only in cities where I have a few good law school options. Then after he was matched, I would choose a law school in that city. I studied really hard for the lsat to be sure that I would have options in multiple large cities. I have a good gpa. This seemed like it could work.

I was looking at admission timelines, and it appears that some great schools require you to give them an answer by the end of February. I won't know where my fiancee is matched for residency until March 18th. What should I do? Do you think law admissions offices will be flexible with those deadlines? We will be married at that point, and really don't want to live long distance at the beginning of our marriage.

Comments

• ddakjikingddakjiking Inactive ⭐
    2116 karma
    I think you misunderstood when you read that some schools have a Feb deadline. That's most likely an initial deposit to hold your seat. Yes that will cost a couple hundred dollars but for most schools, you can still double-deposit until a later date (in your case March).

I have a friend who was in at two T14's and only recently made a decision on where to attend last month.

As for choosing schools to apply to, please keep in mind schools outside of the T14 are regional for the most part so if you pick say a T30 in a city, plan on working in that area for a couple years before moving.
  • Student76Student76 Alum Member