Initial PT Strategy - Would This Work?

Controller779Controller779 Alum Member
in General 221 karma
I did my first PT today and, I have to admit, was disappointed with the score (148). BR wasn't much better in the mid 150.

However, it could have just been because it is my first test - a BIG nervous moment I have been building up to since I started studying in January.

Rather than try to pick apart my weaknesses at this stage, I am figuring it may be good to take another 3-4 tests just to build up some analytics within 7Sage. That should then give me a good basis from which to do some actual targeted further study. With just this one test, I'd be unsure where to even start.

Is that sensible? Or a waste of 3-4 more practice tests?

Thanks,
J.

Comments

• Controller779Controller779 Alum Member
    221 karma
    And....another question....should I BR these initial tests really thoroughly?
  • DumbHollywoodActorDumbHollywoodActor Alum Inactive ⭐
    7468 karma
    Yes. BR is where the learning takes place and is reinforced. I actually type out all of my reasoning for why answers are correct and incorrect. But I must admit that I have no looming deadline to take the test. You have to balance your own priorities in order to figure out what you can and can not do.
  • Controller779Controller779 Alum Member
    221 karma
    Sounds good. Do you think I should do a few tests over the next two days to get some data to move forward from?
  • PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    I would definitely take 2-3 more before addressing any specific areas... My first few PTs were only 5 points higher than my diagnostic on average but after a few more it jumped up another 5 points on average just from getting used to testing. Actually taking PTs helps iron out a lot of other issues you may experience whether it's timing, bubbling, anxiety or anything else.
  • emli1000emli1000 Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    edited July 2015 3462 karma