Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What are my chances? Non-Traditional App

cdot9000cdot9000 Live Member
edited January 26 in Law School Admissions 37 karma

Hey everyone! I am aiming for a T14 & feel as though my GPA may be lacking / need to be a splitter. To give some background, I graduated in Spring 2021 with a Bachelors in Science & a minor in Chemistry, my CAS GPA came out to a 3.62 - I am a Teach for America Alumni, currently teaching my 3rd year of Chemistry, Forensics & Advanced Forensic Psychology in the Bronx. I have a Master of Art in Teaching and graduated dean's list with a 4.0 (although I know schools don't care much for grad). I am about a month into studying but have not done a diagnostic (I know I know I will soon) so I do not have a score, but I am aiming to break 170 like most. I would not be super disappointed with 165+ either.

I guess my main question is, does my holistic application out weigh my lower GPA (in regard to T14 percentiles) or do I truly need to be a competitive splitter & break that 170 (& not test until I am scoring there)? My goal school is NYU on the next application cycle, especially since I already live in the city - I am not too concerned about scholarship money either.

Comments

• damaga0728damaga0728 Live Member
    30 karma

It's probably best to look at LSD data. You should definitely take a diagnostic soon though because logic games is no longer going to be a part of the test in August 2024.

• alexaleknazalexaleknaz Live Member
    72 karma

Just wanted to make a comment on this part of your post:

I have a Master of Art in Teaching and graduated dean's list with a 4.0 (although I know schools don't care much for grad).