Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Will lsat score be averaged?

Katherine-2Katherine-2 Member
in General 97 karma
Does law school look at average lsat scores if I took more than one test? I knew that ABA changed the rules to only evaluating highest scores, and my tutor didn't say anything about average scores, so even though I didn't do well in this Feb test, I still didn't cancel my grades since it's my first time. But now I heard my friends all cancelled their grades and said they'll look at average. OMG! and I googled it but people's views differ. Can anyone give me a definite answer? I'm super worried.... Thanks!!

Comments

• kennedybjkennedybj Alum Member
    697 karma
    They only care about your highest score
  • AlejandroAlejandro Member Inactive ⭐
    2424 karma
    yup! I'd be in a lot of trouble if they didn't. They only care about your highest score unless you're talking about Yale of course.
  • stepharizonastepharizona Alum Member
    3197 karma
    The highest score is what matters.

NYU is one of the only school that implies they average. But they, like Columbia, Yale, Harvard, all say they will evaluate all of your scores as a part of your application. Keep in mind it is in the best interest of the schools to take the highest score you have and not to average.

Also about the cancellations, if you have multiple cancellations for the very top schools that can also be a detriment.

But please don't stress many people have multiple takes and varying scores. If there was a huge difference and something that impacted your performance for the LSAT you could write an addenda to explain the variance, but that's going into a different topic.
  • Katherine-2Katherine-2 Member
    97 karma