Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Community Service

Nanchito-1-1Nanchito-1-1 Yearly Member
edited August 2016 in Law School Admissions 1762 karma
Hi all,

So I want to spiff up my resume a bit and do some community service around my city on the weekends. I've decided on Habitat for Humanity. I basically just signed up and can choose any day im available (mostly Sats because I work full-time). It's surprisingly easy.

How often should I do it?
How long do I have to do it before I can actually put it on my resume?
Should I get proof of volunteering and send it with my apps to law school?

Comments

• Nanchito-1-1Nanchito-1-1 Yearly Member
    1762 karma
    Can you tell i've never done this before?
  • ay_fegetaboutitay_fegetaboutit Alum Member
    116 karma
    You should do it if you feel like you are helping out and it is rewarding. Don't volunteer for a line on your resume. Law schools couldn't care less if/where/how long you volunteered.
  • SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    @"ay_fegetaboutit" said:
    You should do it if you feel like you are helping out and it is rewarding. Don't volunteer for a line on your resume. Law schools couldn't care less if/where/how long you volunteered.
    True and there's no need for proof of volunteering
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited August 2016 23929 karma
    @nanchito I agree with the posts above. @david.busis mentioned this morning on another post that admissions care less about what and more so how long. So don't do it just for a line on the resume, but I have a feeling from seeing your posts on this board you actually care and want to volunteer.