Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Take test in December or February?

johanna586johanna586 Alum Member
in General 202 karma
Hey guys, first time poster here. I've been studying on and off for about 8 months. I've delayed taking the LSAT twice (never signed up) because I didn't feel like I was going to be ready. When I first started in February - May, I was only studying about once or twice a week, so not much. Then I was pretty good for 2 weeks and then immediately took 2 months off. I felt that the only way to kick my but into studying was to register. So I'm currently registered for December, but I am NO where close to where I want my score to be, so I am considering delaying it again, but keeping up the same studying intensity. I am not applying this cycle. I guess the only draw backs is the fact that this will have been the 3rd time I've delayed taking it and the Feb test is undisclosed.

opinions? Thanks!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma
    The short answer is: Take the test when you are confident in your ability to score your goal. This confidence should be partly based on your PT average. You'll want your last 5 PTs to be at or above your target score.

You admit in your post that you are no where close to where you want to be score wise. One of the very important lessons I have learned in following LSAT cycles and preparing for it myself, is that LSAT miracles do not happen; you'll ultimately score the score you've earned. This is why so much hard work and time is necessary to do well on this test.

Also, if you're not applying this cycle, I can't think of any reason you need to rush to take this test in December OR February. I would aim for next September with December 2017 as a backup. And who knows, maybe you'll be ready by June? But as I've said, don't bother signing up or taking the test until you are confident in your ability to get the score you want/deserve!