Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Moving test date?

KlaraHenryKlaraHenry Alum Member
in General 57 karma

Hi all. I'm signed up for the September 2018 test. I work full-time as a paralegal and this summer has been an absolute nightmare as two of my colleagues left for medical reasons and work has piled up, leaving almost no time to study. I'm moving much slower in my prep as a result, and am strongly considering taking the test at a later date since I'm not in a huge rush to apply to law school this fall.

That said, has anyone postponed their test due to feeling unprepared? I think I read somewhere that it's possible to push your test to a different date...is this something LSAC handles? I'm also not sure (given how unpredictable work is) if I want to move it to November or to January--does anyone know if you need to commit to a new date, or if there's a more general rescheduling voucher (for lack of a better word) to delay your test if you've already paid to take it on one day? Any advice is appreciated!

Comments

• Kermit750Kermit750 Alum Member
    2124 karma

Since you're not in a rush to apply to law school this fall and you seem to have a lot on your plate right now, it might be best not to really focus on a specific date, but rather on getting to a point where you're confident enough to sit for the exam. There will be more test dates in the future so I highly advice you not to take the test until you're prepared.I've postponed before and I don't regret. I knew I needed more time to study.

I believe you can cancel and register for another test all on the LSAC website. If you end up registering for Nov/Jan and you realize that you're not ready, you can cancel, but keep in mind that you might not get a refund.

• keets993keets993 Alum Member 🍌
    6050 karma