Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA Addendum

TigerDenTigerDen Alum Member
edited September 2018 in Law School Admissions 59 karma

I have a 3.32 cumulative gpa. However, I had poor grades my first year of undergrad. I want to write an addendum that states that my grades my first year are not reflective of my potential as a law school student. I am writing that high school was simple and that everything was set out by teachers. However, in college, I had to adjust to creating my own schedules to plan my study time. I am also writing that I lacked maturity coming out of high school to know that I needed to plan my time. My grades rose during my second year up until I graduated. Does this addendum sound good?

Comments

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    2531 karma

No, I don’t think that this is a good excuse. When people include an addendum for GPA it usually involves an extrinsic factor. This can be a health-related issue that made you miss classes, a psychological problem or a death in the family. Something that was totally out of your control that you can verify will be looked on favorably.

Another note that I have here is that you’re framing yourself in a negative way. You’re suggesting that you have a hard time adjusting to a new work load. This might make admissions officers doubt your ability to cope with the workload that comes with law school.

I hope this helps, best of luck on your apps

• NotMyNameNotMyName Alum Member Sage
    edited September 2018 5320 karma

The point of an addendum is to add context to a particular aspect of your application. In the case of a GPA, I think it's perfectly reasonable to cite immaturity as long as you can clearly show that you grew out of it. After all, current-you is applying to law school not freshmen-you. What's most important is that there is a clear and striking change between where you started and where you ended.