Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Burnout Advice?

jegosi215jegosi215 Member
edited July 2020 in General 97 karma

Does anyone else have a difficult time dealing with burnout/mental health while studying? I have been studying everyday for the past two months in quarantine. I have pretty much isolated myself from all my friends, and I've probably been spending around 8+ hours a day studying. I know this is the wrong way to go, but I feel like if I study less and start doing other things, I'll become easily distracted. I've only taken two or three days off these past two months, because I always convince myself that I can handle this amount of work. I was planning on taking July, but I had to cancel because a couple weeks before the exam, my PT scores were dropping significantly. My lifestyle at home is ok, but I find myself getting agitated by the exam around family sometimes, which worsens the situation. I'm very result oriented, so I tend to expect quick improvements, but I know the LSAT requires a ton of patience. I've tried yoga, and it's truly helped, but at the end of the day I can't tell if all this work and mental stress is worth it. I've wanted to become a lawyer since the 5th grade, but now I feel like this amount of stress and work just isn't healthy. I keep reminding myself that there are ways to manage this type of stress, but for some reason, I can't seem to get myself to improve my work-life balance. I've come to a breaking point about two times in these past couple months where I absolutely needed to take a break, and I find it difficult to judge when I really need to take a day off. I've dealt with some difficult emotions, and I reconsider going to law school when I feel burnt out. After a day off, I definitely feel ready to get back into studying, but I don't feel like this type of lifestyle is good for anyone. I want this studying process to be a more positive, and healthy exp