Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How are other busy folks managing their study schedules?

valoisopvaloisop Live Member
in General 5 karma

Hi all! I am currently a full-time student, working ~35 hours a week as an LA, and trying to fit in at least 3-4 hours a day on LSAT prep. Are there others in the same boat, and how are you avoiding burnout?

I suppose I just want to hear from anyone who is managing a similar workload that can sympathize. It seems like most of my friends and fellow pre-law students are able to take time off of school and work in order to study.

Comments

• GNA451--GNA451-- Core Member
    edited June 25 69 karma

Good question and definitely a real challenge with no easy answers, but I'll take a stab - I work full time as a senior manager at a big tech company that can often be 50-60hrs and am also an officer in the Army Reserve in a leadership role (variable extra hours, but definitely some extra hours per week).

I would say the consistency is a key foundation, but two other tips:
    - Getting in the right head space makes the time more value-add so that you're getting more bang for your buck (it's not just about raw hours count). E.g. For me, I studied in the evening primarily, but coming from intense/taxing days, I needed to usually go for a run or lift before even trying to start studying or else my brain would feel like mush.
    - Going 3-4hrs every single day probably isn't realistic - your job will require some long hours, you'll need to study for an upcoming test, etc., so be charitable there when you can't, but also on the flipside, hunt for extra time when the opportunity appears. E.g. If I had a quiet day at work, I'd do a few logic games during lunch. For you, maybe after a test when you can back off the studying for a moment, try to ramp up studying if you can, etc.

• catbellycatbelly Core Member
    213 karma