Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

admissions advice: 6+ month unemployment gap, still not LSAT ready

monika_pmonika_p Alum Member

Hi Guys,

I am having some trouble right now with LSATs/admissions, and since I've found this community to be overwhelmingly kind and wise, I thought I would give it a shot. For reference, I am shooting for the T-14 (my undergrad GPA is within those ranges).

Basically, I've had a loooong relationship with the LSAT. Made every rookie mistake in the book. I graduated last June, and I first took an LSAT prep course the summer before my senior year. I went from a 150 to a 160, and thought I could get 173+ by the start of the school year. Obviously that didn't happen, and my entire last year of college was a whole slew of panicked withdrawals and parental pressure, which even resulted in an absence on one of the exams because I didn't withdraw on time.

Thankfully, the gravity of that mistake shocked me out of my cycle. I decided to focus on school, then pick it up again from graduation up until this past September exam. Having finished the curriculum and not discovered 7Sage yet, I studied COMPLETELY the wrong way. My instructor was well-meaning, but he was one of those "unicorns" of the LSAT world - went from a 150 to a 177 in 2 weeks, with a vacation to Mexico in between. (Lol I can't make that up.) He told us the best way to prepare was to drill question types for months and then take practice tests right before. Unfortunately, I still let pressures of friends/family get to me and sat for this past September exam, which I ended up cancelling.