Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Getting burned out while studying

Harrison_PavHarrison_Pav Alum Member

So while I'm studying for this monster of a test, I sometimes can't tell if I'm getting burned out , or if I'm just not getting it. I'm on strengthening questions currently. When I went through weakening questions, I felt like i grasped the concept fairly easily, but I'm not catching the assumptions nearly as well as I did in the weakening questions as the strengthening questions. Does anyone have any tips/suggestions/diagnosis?

Comments

• TexAgAaronTexAgAaron Alum Member
    1723 karma

I feel like there is a fine line between frustration and burnout though it varies person to person but I feel like that line hovers around your sense of drive.

Frustration for me usually happens in a case similar to yours. For example, SA questions are the bane of my existence. I would spend hours with mixed results and not feel good about myself, but I still had the drive to keep pushing and figure them out.

Burnout tends to happen when that drive leaves you. You may be struggling with a certain type of question and instead of having that inner voice that keeps motivating you to figure it out, you have no motivation or want to improve or get better. This can also sometimes disguise itself as frustration or even sometimes hopelessness of improving. Again, this is based off my own experiences and may vary person to person.