Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mature Student--what counts most on application after LSAT

vanessa fishervanessa fisher Alum Member
in General 1084 karma

Hi there,
I'm a mature student (33 years old, and have been out of school for 8 years). I've been studying for the LSAT through 7Sage for the last 5 months, and I'm already scoring quite high in my practice tests. I take the LSAT in September, so I feel I have a realistic chance of scoring in the 170s on the test based on how I've been doing.
That said, my GPA from my undergrad degree from 8 years ago is only 3.6. Not horrible, but not amazing. If I want to get into a top school (my dream school would be Yale, but I'm also looking into Uof Toronto here in Canada), am I just automatically out of the race because I don't have a 3.9 GPA? I mean I know there are always exceptions, but how many really?

Since leaving school I have done a lot of things, like living abroad in 5 countries teaching english, and I also published a book with New York University Press on sex and gender issues. So I feel that could all work in my favor. I'm not sure how much those top schools weigh your GPA if you've been out of school for more than 5 years. Would my book and other publications be more what they focus on?
Any thoughts appreciated!

Comments

• 120_or_bust120_or_bust Core Member
    124 karma

Bumped as I have a similar question, but not as high stats.

Been out of school 14 years, worked/travelled around the world with the federal government and still doing so, prob to the detriment of my LSAT studying!

I'd be surprised if I got 170 or higher but am putting the effort for it, but my cGPA was 3.1 (L2 of 3.6)

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

@wetcoastcanuck said:
    Bumped as I have a similar question, but not as high stats.