Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Letters for Reach Schools

mcglz_64mcglz_64 Alum Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm still planning out my timeline to apply for schools to start in the Fall of 2018. I have a pretty low GPA (3.49) and don't know my LSAT score yet (will be taking in Sept). I've had about 3 years of working experience in law firms as a practice assistant.

Like most, I have a good list of schools I'm applying to with safeties, targets and reaches.

I plan on asking a teacher or work supervisor for recommendations when the time comes, but the problem is I'm embarrassed to ask for letters to my reach schools. I'm talking Harvard, Columbia, etc. as my reach and I feel like people would just laugh at my face.

Has anyone ever had this issue before? These are my dream schools, but with my GPA I don't seriously think I'll get in - I'm just kind of applying to "see if it could ever happen" (and obviously on the off chance that I would be accepted - I would attend). I'm aware this could be a waste of time/money, but I will regret it if I don't apply to these schools.

Comments

• mcglz_64mcglz_64 Alum Member
    891 karma

bump

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
    13286 karma

If you'll regret not applying, wouldn't you be extension regret not asking for the letters? I honestly can't see someone laughing at someone else for trying to get into a good school.

I think you know the answer to this better than any of us on here do. I also think you should go for it.

• inactiveinactive Alum Member
    12637 karma

Do not bump threads that are not over 12 hours old, please. This has only been up for 30min.

891 karma