Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is it bad to state in an essay exactly the area of law you want to practice?

himynameisjenhimynameisjen Member
edited October 2017 in Law School Admissions 52 karma

Hi all,

I've been working as a real estate law clerk for the past two years and although I kind of accidentally fell into real estate (I graduated in journalism) I actually really enjoy it.

I'm finishing up my law school applications (due Nov 1. in Canada) and in one of my personal statements I've stated outright that I know I wanted to become a real estate lawyer.

Could stating this hurt my application in any way? I may be overthinking this, but I keep thinking that someone who reads my essay might think I won't pay attention or do my best in other areas of law during school since I know real estate law is what I want to practice.

Help!

Comments

• sillllyxosillllyxo Alum Member
    708 karma

Def. not if your essay ties into a real world experience (like being a law clerk) that has inspired you to pursue x,y,z law.

• Paul CaintPaul Caint Alum Member
    3521 karma

I don't think so. I'm talking about how I want to pursue some kind of government/public policy work. I don't think it's ever bad to indicate if you have a specific reason for going to law school.

• himynameisjenhimynameisjen Member
    52 karma

@sillllyxo said:
    Def. not if your essay ties into a real world experience (like being a law clerk) that has inspired you to pursue x,y,z law.

Thank you!

52 karma

@"Paul Caint" said:
    I don't think so. I'm talking about how I want to pursue some kind of government/public policy work. I don't think it's ever bad to indicate if you have a specific reason for going to law school.

Thank you, that definitely makes me feel better!

• tringo335tringo335 Alum Member
    3679 karma