Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I'm considering taking the GRE

Hannah56Hannah56 Alum Member
in General 224 karma

Hi,
With the recent announcement from Northwestern that they accelerated the GRE acceptance to this cycleI'm considering taking it within the next 2 weeks. My question is do you think it can compensate for a low LSAT? I have studied for the GMAT 2 years ago and scored well. And I heared that it's easier than both LSAT & GMAT. I'm an international student ( English is my second language) & majored in Finance, so the math section might give me some advantage.
Is there a specific threshold which would be considered a strong score? Any advice would help.

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited December 2017 23929 karma

You're better off retaking the LSAT in Feb. The GRE is far too new to offset a low LSAT. Also, if you take the LSAT as well as the GRE, the schools will still see your LSAT, and have to report it. At least from what I've read.

As far as what scores will be considered strong, that will depend on the schools for which you're applying. For NU, I'd guess (based on their ranking/LSAT medians) a strong GRE would be somewhere in the 167/168 verbal score range (98%-tile). I'm guessing law schools may be more interested in your verbal scores, but I have no idea how they would treat your quantitative reasoning scores. If they have to report it, I'm guessing it will likely have to be strong as well.

• Hannah56Hannah56 Alum Member
    224 karma

@"Alex Divine" so even if I score well on the GRE, my LSAT score will still impact their median? In other words their ranking? For Business schools, I know some applicationts who scored poorly on GMAT but were admitted based on their GRE. I thought it would be the same case here.

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited December 2017 23929 karma

@Hannah56 said: