Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Getting worse at LR??

hawaiihihawaiihi Free Trial Member

Hi all!

I'm hoping that someone can help me out here. I started studying for the LSAT around Christmas, at when I took my diagnostic and a few subsequent LR sections/PTs, I was going -1/0 pretty consistently on LR sections. However, in the past two weeks or so, I've been doing a bit worse, ranging from -2 to -4, with a lot of -3.

Is it possible I've gotten worse? That I'm burning out? Any thoughts would be appreciated, especially if you've found that you've gotten worse on a section since studying!

Comments

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
    13286 karma

Burnout is likely, going through a shift in understand of the test it likely too.

It’s actually quite common to have fluctuations in the test. Maybe you were just naturally good at LR before, but now that you are starting to learn about the inner workings of questions your natural ability is clashing with what you are learning a bit

Either way I wouldn’t worry too much. Take a break from LR and see what happens when you return!

(Ps truely understanding > natural talent any day) its a good thing!

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

How many sections/PTs did you do worse on? More importantly, what were the reasons you missed those 2-4 question? If there's really no reason, then perhaps it was just a fluke you can chalk up to a bad section or burnout.

Do you feel burnt out?

• hawaiihihawaiihi Free Trial Member
    edited January 2018 973 karma

@"Alex Divine"

I've done worse on probably 5 or so sections, overall. I think that the sections where I went -2 (versus -1) are probably not as significant, since one question isn't probably an indicator of my whole ability.