Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Getting really discouraged with the LG games setup, any advice?

JohnnyKarateJohnnyKarate Member
in Logic Games 157 karma

So I'm new to LG -- I've already done the first section regarding sequencing games, and I've foolproofed all 10 problem sets from that first section. I feel like I've got that down; then I moved onto to sequencing games w/ a twist (and double sequencing games) and whenever I come across a new game for the first time in the problem set, it takes me longer than it should (usually 3-5 mins) to get the game board set up, and then takes me a while to solve it.

I understand that through practicing and foolproofing that I can finish the game correctly in the target time it should take, however, I'm just getting really discouraged because I feel like I have to keep watching the video explanation for EVERY single game just to get it down.

I feel like at some point I should start to be able to solve these games on my own without needing to watch the video explanations.
When did you guys get to the point that you could come across a new game and solve it efficiently? I know I'm just starting out, but it's just tough when it keeps taking me longer than it should to get the games solved. Any success stories?

Comments

• Habeas PorpoiseHabeas Porpoise Alum Member Sage
    edited May 2018 1866 karma

Hey there!

(Edit: Oops, realized I'd need to include an obligatory wall-of-text warning. Sorry, this got wordy, lol!)

I understand your worry, but honestly, 3-5 minutes is completely normal. Depending on the game I'd even say that's fast, especially since you're just starting out. I mean, this stuff is new and it's okay to spend more time when learning it -- I wouldn't worry about how long you're taking to set up the board and finish the game just yet, you can do plenty of that when PTing.