Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

should I take the July lsat? I scored above my practice pt in June. And afraid I might go down

LsatmindedLsatminded Member
edited June 2019 in General 54 karma

I scored a 164 on my June lsat, which I’m content with but of course would be nice to score higher. I was practice testing at 160-163. On the actual exam, I had -9 reading comp(usually my stronger section), -5 logic games, and -4 logical reasoning. Not sure if those sections were easier than normal and reading comp was harder. Anyways, I registered for July as a backup. I haven’t studied since taking the June exam. So it would really be me just taking a random shot. I studied for a while (6 months but also some time 2 years ago) before June and already have a cancel on my record from 2 years ago. Besides my lsat score, I have a really strong background besides that (top school, graduated with honors etc). Should I take a shot at the lsat in July despite doing above my practice test or just sit this one out? How bad would a another cancel look? I’m not sure I’d want to take it again after the July too. I already registered for July and can’t get a refund

Comments

• jasminesadejasminesade Alum Member
    249 karma

I don't think another cancel would look bad. Law schools are only concerned with your highest LSAT score and plus there could be a reason you canceled the July exam - since it's the introduction of the digital format. Don't worry too much about that and just go with your gut

• hannahcohannahco Member
    43 karma

I don't think another cancel would look bad esp since July will be introducing the digital. Plus if you do choose to cancel you have the option of a free retake which you can study for and potentially improve your score a few months down the line. If you're up for it, I'd say take the July!

• LsatmindedLsatminded Member
    54 karma