Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Applying with low GPA, current 156 LSAT

Hi all, wondering if any of you think there's a whispering hope for a 3.0 GPA in a science degree with honours and a current 156 lsat. I will be writing again in January and April in hopes of raising my score, highest PT 161. Applying anywhere in Canada but my hopes would be Windsor, Ottawa or TRU. I was hoping for a score about 160, and ideally I was thinking a 165 might give me a fighting chance, but alas as we stand now that's not the case. Wondering if anyone was accepted with a lower GPA and what LSAT they had.

I am a mature student with currently 6 years in the work force, continually advancing position, and 3 years in a unique legal role with court experience. I will have strong LORs.

I know its a bit theoretical now since I'm writing again, but really just looking for anyone in a similar boat and what hey needed LSAT wise to get in somewhere.

Hoping for some improvement, and thank ya'll for feedback!

Comments

• Chipster StudyChipster Study Yearly Member
    893 karma

From what I am hearing from coaches, the farther out you go, the less important your GPA is. You have a decent number in a science. It is not like you had a 2.0. And, LSAT counts for more than GPA. Of course, if you can bump that up, all the better. I am not familiar with the Canadian law school system, but it does not seem like you are in a fatal position. Go for it!!

• Lolo1996Lolo1996 Member
    498 karma

Hi!

Similar LSAT score here: 156, out of school for 1yr+ (not identical but sitll) and also Canadian :)

I am going to be honest, I dont think a strong LOR will make a difference. Unless its the dean or something.

Make sure you really beef up your resume w extra cirriculars, put everything down.