Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Question about Practice Tests

in General 316 karma

Hi everyone!
Thank you for how helpful you've all been during this process! So I finished the CC and now I have 45 days till the LSAT. I've gotten my score up a few points (from mid 150s diagnostic to high 150s low 160s now) and I know I won't be able to "maximize" my score since I've only committed a few months, but my goal score is low-mid 160s and my top choices are mid tier state schools that prioritize public interest work. So I was wondering, is 25 practice tests in 45ish days too many? I'd be committing roughly 4-5 hours to each test between the actual exam and review. I've been committing around 8 hours a day to preparation so I feel like it should be reasonable, but I am also very new to intense study and prep testing. I'd appreciate any advice you all could throw my way, thank you so much!
- Matt

Comments

• giulia.pinesgiulia.pines Member
    466 karma

Since that's one practically every 2 days, I'd say it's a bit too much. It might serve you better to have one day for a PT, one day for review, and then one day for drilling on whatever question types are most difficult for you. You should also have at least one day of brain rest per week!

• 316 karma

@"giulia.pines" thank you for replying! I appreciate your input, I feel like that many PT's could be too much. I was just wondering if you could explain why a rest day is necessary? I'm not doubting it, just hoping to have that aspect explained to me a little more since I have seen that said a lot. I don't feel burnt out or discouraged when I study and if I do start getting frustrated I'll either stop for the day or take a few hours off. Is it like training a muscle? I get why someone shouldn't workout the same muscle every week, but I don't see why someone can't workout at least one muscle group every day of the week. Thanks again!
    - Matt