Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Receiving Accommodations Without Previous Proof

CotsworthCotsworth Alum Member
in General 7 karma

I'm curious if anyone has been in a similar situation and can give me some color on how they went about successfully receiving accommodations.

I was diagnosed with a learning disability in elementary school and received testing accommodations (Time and a half) until I graduated High School. I did not elect to receive accommodations on standardized tests (SAT/AP/ACT). I did not elect to receive accommodations in college either. All I have is proof of my initial diagnosis (from elementary school) and an IEP (Individual Education Program) that states I am to be given accommodations for testing. There is no proof that these accommodations were continued throughout high school because all that was necessary for me to receive the accommodations was a written letter from my parents every year requesting that I still receive said accommodations.

I'm confident that I can have my General Practitioner fill out the necessary form and even write a letter that I should receive accommodations but I am not sure that along with my documentation from elementary school will be enough. Do I need a psychologist to do so? Will my Dr be enough? Will my lack of accommodations past high school disqualify me?

I called LSAC and they were rather unhelpful. All they told me to do was submit the proper documents and when I asked if what I have will be enough they told me to reference the website.

Anyone have any recommendations/advice on how I can sure up my chances of receiving accommodations? Kinda freaking out here.

Comments

• jocelynandrade5jocelynandrade5 Alum Member
    97 karma