Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Reading on your free time.

MrSamIamMrSamIam Inactive ⭐
edited December 2015 in General 2086 karma
Hey Everyone!

I'm just curious, what are you guys and gals reading on your free time? I'm looking to boost my reading speed, which I believe can be done by being a tad more well read. I know it has been suggested that we read The Economist, Scientific American, or The New Yorker. I'll likely subscribe to one of these magazines - either The New Yorker or The Economist, since Scientific American is the most expensive out of the three.
I absolutely despise economics and the test writers clearly don't share my dislike of the discipline...so, what's the most sensible thing to do? Subscribe to The Economist! Please feel free to bash me for this - I appreciate the criticism :).

Comments

• Johnny_MJohnny_M Member
    8 karma
    Hi MrSamlam,

I have a subscription to the New Yorker and absolutely love it. I would say of the three, The New Yorker is the most eccentric. It's fun, witty, silly, serious, and extremely enjoyable to read.
  • DumbHollywoodActorDumbHollywoodActor Alum Inactive ⭐
    7468 karma
    The Great Dissent by Thomas Healy is fantastic. Thanks @c.janson35 for the rec.
  • MrSamIamMrSamIam Inactive ⭐
    2086 karma
    @Johnny_M that's exactly what I'm looking for. Something that I can both enjoy reading and use to enhance my understanding of some of the dense topics that are discussed on the LSAT.

@DumbHollywoodActor I am almost positive that a professor of mine gave me a copy of that book. I'll have to look for it. Thanks for the suggestion!

Would you guys recommend that I read about things that I'm not too fond of, but I know are likely to appear on the LSAT? The obvious answer is probably yes...
  • LSATman1LSATman1 Alum Member
    386 karma
    The Economist articles use a very similar style to the passages on the LSAT