Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HELP: Law school application process

christinaguillen8christinaguillen8 Free Trial Member
in General 6 karma
I'm trying to apply to law school but I have a major problem. I've worked at an uneventful startup the last two years. It's been my passion but now I don't have anyone to ask for a letter of recommendation. I graduated in 2013 and I don't think that my professors/ mentors will remember me. Also, my resume has major gaps bc I've only been at this "company" and the shitty odd jobs in college. I'm the first person in my family to graduate from college. Any suggestions would be great.

Comments

• cverdugocverdugo Free Trial Member
    136 karma
    Is there anyone in the company that could write a LOR for you? Even though it was 'uneventful' as you say, it sounds like maybe someone there could speak to your passion: even if they are just a co-worker, or the relationship was in some capacity other than supervisor. Someone who can speak to who you really are is better than nothing. And the good news is that LOR are not heavily weighted in your admissions as other factors. As long as the person writing it doesn't write something negative or their writing gives off a tone like they hardly know you. This brings me to my final piece of advice, STAY AWAY from people that have no direct experience working with you or those people who will write you a LOR as a favor. I don't know how many times someone I know tells me "I know so and so from non-profit company X that will write you!" Always tell them respectfully know. Admissions have spent years looking at LOR and can tell when something is written superficially, this would be more of a negative than anything.