Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New study schedule after terrible 1st LSAT try/open for suggestions

jennilynn89jennilynn89 Alum Member
in General 822 karma
Hi 7Sagers,

I'm looking to get some input from you all. The community here is amazing, so I'm looking forward to some great suggestions.
To give you a little background on my situation:
I took the December LSAT (been scoring in the low-to mid 150s and should have probably not taken it either way, since my goal score is in the 160s) and got a devastating score in the low 140s.
Before this I had been studying for about 5-6 months, with 2-3 months intense study (quit my job the last two months to dedicate time to a big move and my LSAT studies). I've studied with the LSAT trainer and all three Powerscore books and took about 20 PTs total.

I took off some time to mentally recuperate from this disappointment, decided to pick the books back up and study for the June LSAT. I just purchased the Manhattan LR book, because I've heard some better reviews on this compared to the Powerscore books and I need some fresh material.
LG is my strength, LR is pretty much hit or miss, and RC is too. I'd really like to get to a point where I'm getting close to -1 or -2 in LG (I was at around -3 or -4 at my best) and strengthen my LR skills to improve in that department as well. I've kind of given up on RC and am going to focus on my time management mainly to get through all passages and score points that way.

Now I'm wondering if a June LSAT will be feasible to reach my 160s goal, or if I should give myself some more time and rather shoot for September? I'm also not sure how to get back into studying, as I'm finding myself easily discouraged/unmotivated when I try to get back into it. Any suggestions on this? I know it's mental laziness and I probably just need to get it back together. I now work a full-time 8-5 job.