Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Possibility of getting scholarships if admitted off waitlists

Sheri123Sheri123 Alum Member
edited April 2016 in Law School Admissions 1196 karma
Hi everyone,

I'm on about 6 waitlists now & one hold & I'm curious if anyone has had any luck getting scholarships if admitted off waitlists?

My current LSAT score is 160 w/ adjusted LSAC GPA of 3.15, degree GPA of 3.43 w/upward trending. Strong softs including long career in corporate finance, Letters of recommendation & personal statements & addendum. I'm a non-traditional student.

I'm planning on visiting some of my top picks I'm waitlisted at over the next few weeks.

I'm also preparing to retake the LSAT in June to try to raise my score.

Thank you in advance for any tips or advice.

Comments

• jdawg113jdawg113 Alum Inactive ⭐
    2654 karma
    I have heard of it happening so I would say it is possible but it seems your best bet is really prepping for June and getting that score up
  • Jonathan WangJonathan Wang Yearly Sage
    6866 karma
    One of my students got a near-full-ride at a T6 after getting off the waitlist, so it's definitely possible (though that degree of scholarship is obviously not typical). But it's unpredictable and therefore not really smart to rely on. jdawg's advice is essentially right - focus on what you can control and study for the June test to get that score up, and if a scholarship comes your way in the meantime then sweet.
  • Sheri123Sheri123 Alum Member
    1196 karma
    Thanks @jdawg113, I'm going back into full study mode now after taking a month off & I'm hoping I can at least get my score up in June consistently to my highest PTs around 163-165 if not better.
    Thanks @jonathan Wang.

I'm also looking forward to watching The recording of the LOC I webinar since that might also help me to get off waitlist if I send those and.