Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Nontraditional student study prep?

in General 342 karma
I am taking my diagnostic test tonight and I am suspecting it will be a little rough, as I have not taken a test like this in a decade. I am considered nontraditional as I graduated undergrad 10 years ago... and my understanding is that LSAT is weighed even heavier for non traditional students. Has anyone else heard this? Also any advise on studying as a nontraditional student? I have a full time job and I am finding that in the evenings it is really hard to study for long periods of time because I am just drained. Any tips? I am pretty much at stage one and I am prepared to dedicate 1-2 hours a day during the week and a little more on the weekend, but any tips would be great.

Comments

• DumbHollywoodActorDumbHollywoodActor Alum Inactive ⭐
    edited May 2016 7468 karma
    Non-traditional student here. I watch my 4-year old twins (look what happens to children of LSAT addicts: ) during the day and tutor SAT/ACT in the evenings and weekends. Somewhere in between there, I LSAT prep.

I am over 10 years out from getting my Master’s (in Theatre!). My diagnostic was 141. I took that in December 2014. With the exception a few interspersed weeks of breaks to stave off burnout, I’ve been steadily studying since then (because I’m trying to get into UCLA (my wife already works there)). If I’m lucky, I’ll take the test for the first time this September, after 21 months of continuous study.

My advice: Studying for the LSAT is like making a Brisket: low heat and slow.

While there’s definitely a lot of information to take in at first (grammar, argumentation, logic, valid arguments, fallacies,etc..), the LSAT really is testing how you think (and how quickly you think).