Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help!!! Low LSAT/High GPA Splitter?

HLS or bustHLS or bust Core Member
edited November 2020 in Law School Admissions 23 karma

So I took the LSAT for the first time last month and got a VERY average score. I'm freaking out because my dream school is HLS, but the score I got is way off from the benchmark. Do I still have a chance of being admitted? I'm an undergrad, URM (African American woman) with a 3.8+ GPA. I also have a lot of extracurriculars (Student Body President, Magazine editor, etc.).

Comments

• VerdantZephyrVerdantZephyr Member
    2054 karma

@reneebttrsn To answer this at all we will need more information. Specifically what your LSAT was and secondly when you want to apply. Also, I assume your GPA was around a 3.8, but if it was a 3.89 that is a huge difference. If you want to apply for next year, everything is going to hinge on that LSAT score you got. If you want to or are willing to apply farther in the future than no worries, you have plenty of time to improve. I will also say that unless your dream is just to say that you went to Harvard Law, you probably do not have to go to Harvard to make your dreams happen. Even if you are looking for BigLaw or a federal clerkship there are other schools that will accomplish those things equivalently to Harvard. First though, when do you intend to apply, is that flexible, and what was your LSAT?

2054 karma

It looks like their GPA medians are 25th percentile 3.78 and 50th 3.88. I will assume your GPA is between those, but if it is right around 3.88 or above that is important as well.

Also, I meant to post this earlier, 7sage has a admit predictor you can utilize. Google 7sage law school predictor and you can put your numbers in to get a picture. With that said however, I think the community can provide both some context and advice that the predictor will not.

• HLS or bustHLS or bust Core Member