Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I don't go to a rigorous school...

I am a senior at an "average" college, and I have a 3.99 GPA. I am a transfer student, so my combined GPA is a 3.8. I am aiming for a 170 on the LSAT, but I wouldn't be surprised if I wound up closer to a 165. Anyway, I am concerned that I won't get into schools that look for decently high LSAT scores unless I score well above the median score... like maybe I will need the 75th percentile score to get in without scholarship. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this issue or if anyone has any thoughts on it.

Comments

• Seeking PerfectionSeeking Perfection Alum Member
    4423 karma

I don’t think the rigour of the school matters much. The US News rankings don't put any weight on it so the law schools treat it as at best a minor soft in admissions. If I were you, I would pick schools to apply to on the assumption that you will perform as your numbers suggest. Use law school numbers and enter different possible LSAT scores with your GPA to see what those numbers suggest. http://mylsn.info/498kl7/
    Pick safeties, reaches, and targets accordingly.

That said, 165 vs 170 or 175 are going to have huge differences in your admissions results and scholarships so you want to do everything you can to maximize your LSAT score. If the pessimism of fearing you need to be at the 75th helps, then ignore what I said until after you secure your best possible LSAT score.

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma

Do you have an LSAC GPA average yet?

• TheMikeyTheMikey Alum Member
    4196 karma

if your LSAC GPA is around a 3.8, that is pretty good tbh

Try to get as high as possible on the LSAT. Also, play around with numbers on http://mylsn.info if you want to see what kind of LSAT score you could have and still get into some schools.

also, where you go for undergrad really doesn't matter.