Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice

skrishnanskrishnan Alum Member
edited November 2017 in General 209 karma

I have been wanting to write this post for a while now.
I started studying in the End of July 2017, finished the CC and took my first PT on August 31st with a very disappointing score (152). Throughout the CC I felt very confident in my understanding of the concepts so the score threw me off a little. All of August I had fool proofed games, but a new 6min game would still take me upto 10 on fresh PT's.
September, I made the mistake of doing timed sections instead of drilling LR and RC and did not see much of an improvement. All of October I drilled LR and RC and I do feel a lot more confident looking at the questions now.
However, My timed score is still between 152-155. I BR between 165 and 172. With 3 weeks until test day, I got a 153 yesterday which is so disappointing.

I know I'm capable of scoring in the 170's. And i've been studying full time for 4 months, so this is just really frustrating. To give you some background, I had my own company for the past 2 years, we hit a roadblock in May and that's when I finally decided to take the plunge and attempt the LSAT. I'm 25 and live in India right now. Making it to this admission cycle was very important to me since I'm very unclear with where to work for the next 2 years incase I don't make it in this cycle, since i'm at a point where i'm completely switching my career.

I'm unsure of what i'm doing wrong with my prep, since while drilling I feel fairly confident. Maybe i'm just not good with testing under timed conditions? If that's the case, how do I get over my timer anxiety.
I'm sorry if this sounds like a rant, but switching careers isn't common in India and no one around me really gets the amount of stress i'm under. I would love any inputs :)

Comments

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage