Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA advice (desperate)

Christina-5Christina-5 Alum Member
in General 150 karma

I jus used the CAS gpa calculator on 7Sage to calculate my 3 transcripts ( freshmen year at one university, one summer class at a cc and the university where I got my degree) and my gpa came out to a 2.97 because I added an F from a class that I retook ( when I removed it my gpa was 3.0). What I would like to know is how is LSAC going to report my gpa? Are they going to put my actual gpa on the report along with their calculation of my gpa? Or is it just going to be that 2.9 gpa? Because I did graduate with cum laude and I was on the Dean list

Also if they are going to use just the 2.9 gpa what would you say is a good lsat score to get into a school that median ask for 3.3gpa and 155 lsat?

Comments

• goingfor99thgoingfor99th Free Trial Member
    edited March 2018 3072 karma

160 should get you in no problem.

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

(Correct me if I'm wrong, 7sagers but...)

I believe that the schools will get an academic summary report (that shows in your LSAC account) which is what it says... a summary. They'll see the cumulative GPA that LSAC calculates and it also breaks down how many hours you have in each of the grade categories at each of the schools attended. I believe they'll also have access to your direct transcripts, but can't speak to how deeply they look at everything.

It's tough to say exactly, but rule thumb is you want to counterbalance a lower number with a higher number in the opposite category. So, if you have a GPA around the 25th percentile, you'll want an LSAT probably 75th percentile and up. So, without knowing what school this is or what the 25th/75ths are, that's sort of a rule of thumb. You'll probably want to see what their 75th percentile LSAT is and shoot for at least that.

• Seeking PerfectionSeeking Perfection Alum Member