Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA question from an old fogey

Claire Z.Claire Z. Alum Member
edited September 2018 in Law School Admissions 116 karma

I graduated from college back in the dark ages when GPAs didn't go over 4.0. Do I need to point that out?

On the one hand, the dates I attended are clearly written on my resume and I don't want to sound whiny.

On the other hand, David advises us to point out different aspects of our GPA if it makes us look good. For example, he says to compare your GPA to the class average if you benefit from the comparison. While researching I found that the average high school GPA for students enrolling in my former college is 4.23. I realize that's high school but still - it drew me up short. My college GPA of 3.74 may or may not be impressive to the admissions officers, but it definitely won't if 4.23s are typical.

Or is it only high schools that go above 4.0 and not colleges?

help

Comments

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

I don’t think it’s as much of an era thing as it is school by school policy. I’m in the same boat. I transferred from a school that does give A+s (which I had one) to a school that doesn’t (boo). LSAC standardizes our GPAs, though it irritates me that that’s one thing they don’t account for. I don’t think it’s worth pointing out; I didn’t when I applied last year. 3.74 is still a very good GPA and they’ll have your full transcripts to review as well. It’s a common thing that some schools don’t give A+s. And I think pointing that out might not put you in the best light - as if you’re complaining about a 3.74 GPA when that is already very good. It’s just shy of median at pretty much the whole T14, and well above most of their 25ths. With a strong LSAT score, you're in fine shape.

• Claire Z.Claire Z. Alum Member
    116 karma

Leah, how does LSAC standardize our GPAs?