Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I'm such an anxious test-taker, I'm anxious about taking the prep tests...

graziosi.caseygraziosi.casey Core Member
in General 61 karma

I realize this sounds silly, but please understand I have a lot of anxiety that was 100% cultivated through academia. I currently have a full-time job that I handle perfectly well, but as soon as any kind of scores come into the picture, I shut down. In college, I mostly got around this by taking classes that were very heavy on research papers and essays, which I stress over less because I know I have time to ponder, take breaks, revise, etc, but timed tests... not so much.

Saturday I was supposed to take my first prep test, which I already delayed because I felt like I wasn't prepared enough to do so a week ago. Then — surprise, surprise — didn't feel ready on Saturday, either. So, I studied from the moment I got up, straight through lunch, straight through dinner, until it was 10:00pm and I realized I just had to bite the bullet. Of course, by this time I was exhausted, hungry, stressed, angry at the mere existence of the LSAT..... and (though I don't know my score yet because I am currently wrapping up the blind review) I am sure that I performed even worse than when I took the initial practice test, before the course began.

I know that I created a horrible situation for myself, but even with that awareness, I am also aware that I am very likely to do it again. I just focus so much on being 100% prepared and put so much pressure on myself to do well, that I end up completely sabotaging myself. And even when I try to take breaks, I just end up feeling guilty and stressed over the fact that I'm not studying. At this point, I'm honestly getting close to burning out.