Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Improving Speed

agrant18agrant18 Free Trial Member
edited January 2014 in General 11 karma
Hi everybody! I am new to the 7sage community and I am finding that I am waaaay too slow at these questions! Is that the case with anyone else? On the problem sets I set a fifteen minute timer, and I often have one or two questions left when it goes off! That is pretty bad because that means that I am spending over a minute on each question and probably suggests that I should skip. In general, I think the problem may be choosing my answer choice because I narrow down to two answer choices and then I get stuck deliberating them for only God knows how long! Does anyone have any tips on improving speed other than taking practice tests over time?

Comments

• ENTJENTJ Alum Inactive ⭐
    3658 karma
    Review the "Blind Review Method" at the beginning of the syllabus. Also, don't worry too much about the speed at first; get the logic and reasoning down first. The speed will come naturally as you practice more and more.
  • mvallani8mvallani8 Alum Member
    40 karma
    I agree with Simpaticonx.

I used to be HORRIBLE when I first started timing myself considering I'm not the fastest reader. My suggestion (and this worked very well for me) is to do a few full length tests untimed. Focus on hitting 100% accuracy and then time yourself once you're comfortable with the questions.
  • marryam_kmarryam_k Alum Member
    29 karma
    I'm on my fourth timed prep test and I can usually only get to question 20 on LR and I always end up missing Reading Comp questions too. It sucks, I always end up with a Blind Review score that is significantly higher because of this. Is this just something everyone went through at the beginning? If anyone else has any tips for improving speed it would be much appreciated! Is it just something that gets better as you do more prep tests?