LSAT Addendum - What counts as "significant" score difference?

jnw7tpjnw7tp Alum Member

I went to an UMich information session last week, and she raised an interesting point I hadn't previously considered regarding writing an LSAT addendum for my application. Michigan strongly suggests you write an LSAT addendum for scores with a 6+ points difference. My first LSAT (2 years ago) was a mid-160s while my most recent LSAT just barely beats that 6+ improvement threshold. I'll write the addendum for Michigan, but it got me thinking about whether I need to write an addendum for other schools that request it for "significant differences" in test scores.

Does a 7pt improvement meet the threshold to submit an LSAT addendum if schools don't specifically state the number of points they consider to be a difference? The reason for the difference is primarily - I studied harder, didn't start a new job 5 days before test day, and was much more focused this time around. Interested to hear thoughts.

Comments

• NotMyNameNotMyName Alum Member Sage
    edited October 2018 5320 karma

I think so. Just keep it brief. I submitted one to each of my schools since my scores were pretty wonkey (159>164>174)

• JPJ July2021JPJ July2021 Core Member
    1532 karma

I just don't see the point because you either had more time to study or studied harder and adcoms would know that.

5320 karma

I just don't see the point because you either had more time to study or studied harder and adcoms would know that.

I agree. Several Dean's have said they want one whenever you break a new score band, though.

• jnw7tpjnw7tp Alum Member
    23 karma

@Emily2122 Agreed, that's why I'd never even thought about writing one prior to hearing the Michigan comment. It seems like a very grey area, but it sounds like it may be better to err on the side of caution and submit an addendum just in case.

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma