160--->176 on July Digital Test while working full time-- my story and tips

goblue123goblue123 Alum Member
edited September 2019 in General 231 karma

Hi team,

I've been meaning to write this post since I got my July score, but I wanted to give a brief recap of my LSAT experience while working full time and doing and starting an online Master's program. I got into some details about my mental state, time spent studying, and stuff like that. Sorry it's a bit long, but I figured some other stressed out/anxious people might benefit from knowing the details of what was happening in my head. The story comes first, then my general tips, and a few actual LSAT tips. Happy to answer any questions :).

My Story

I started studying back in June 2018 and got 7sage Ultimate+, planning to take the test in September. I got a 160 on my diagnostic, so I figured I wouldn't need more than a couple months (and oh boy was I wrong!). I was also working full time in consulting in a pretty demanding role, so finding a couple hours after work wasn't feasible for a while. By the time it got to the beginning of August, I wasn't even up to logic games in the core curriculum (CC), so I decided to push my test date out to January 2019 to give myself more time. I let myself enjoy summer a bit before bearing down in the fall. Time-wise, I allocated 1-1.5 hrs of study time after work Monday-Thursday, and around 5 or 6 hours on Sundays-- I don't work on Shabbat, so I always had that break built in. This scheduled worked for me, as I had built in breaks and didn't burn out (at first).