Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mentors For "Non Traditional" Prospective Law Students

smartaone2smartaone2 Alum Member
in General 512 karma

Hello 7Sage Community! As a non traditional prospective law school student who has been out of school for awhile (94) and thinks this is a necessity, I would love to find a mentor to walk with me, share their advice and experience with applying to law school and attending law school. I truly believe having a mentor in the area that you are pursuing your dream/passion is vital. I am new to Houston TX, so I'm not sure what avenues are available to seek out this information. I would like to know if anyone has any ideas and/or suggestions on how to find a mentor. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• tringo335tringo335 Alum Member
    3679 karma

I completely agree; this is a great idea. I am also a NTS and found my mentor through Linked In. It took a couple tries reaching out to different people - not everyone has the bandwidth to engage- but I recently found someone who went to my goal school and is working in the area I desire to work in who was completely open to answering any and all of my questions. My hope is to build a strong enough relationship that I can possibly use her as a reference if I need to in the future. That being said, LinkedIn might be worth giving a try.

• smartaone2smartaone2 Alum Member
    edited November 2017 512 karma

@tringo335 That's great you have found someone to mentor you and I think that's a great idea to try LinkedIn. I will give it a shot. May I ask how you went about finding this individual? Did you search for persons that went to your goal school or search for those who work in the are you too desire to work in?

• lizpillizpil Member
    282 karma

Following this thread! I'm a NTS as well.

• lsatplaylistlsatplaylist Member
    5249 karma