Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT or GRE?

sx23sx23 Alum Member

Hi y'all! I read your discussion on GRE for application but just wonder what do you all think about whether GRE or LSAT might be better for me. I majored in Biology and had a high uGPA (3.9+). People say STEM majors tend to have an advantage in GRE. What if I take both and apply with a 25th percentile LSAT for Columbia but a high GRE verbal (168-169 out of 170)?

Thanks in advance!

GRE/LSAT?
  1. What test should I take?35 votes
    1. LSAT
      85.71%
    2. GRE
      14.29%

Comments

• LastLSATLastLSAT Alum Member
    edited June 2018 1028 karma

You're on an LSAT forum. I have a feeling you know what the resounding answer here will be...

With that said, take the LSAT. It's still the status quo. Almost everyone matriculating at top schools is relying on the LSAT even though a few schools are accepting the GRE.

If you're going to take the LSAT, don't bother with the GRE. Just put all of your time into getting an above median LSAT. If you can pull a 99th percentile GRE, you can pull a 99th percentile LSAT. It's a very learnable test

I come from a mixed STEM/humanities background and didn't find STEM to be a handicap on the LSAT—in fact, it was probably a positive factor in being able to grasp the formal logic at the core of the arguments in LR and the setup for LG.

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    2531 karma

We don’t have enough information to say “take the GRE” yet. It’s just too risky. The LSAT is a winnable, tried and true method for admission at top schools.

• edited June 2018 439 karma

@LastLSAT said:
    You're on an LSAT forum. I have a feeling you know what the resounding answer here will be...

This

@Ohnoeshalpme said:
    We don’t have enough information to say “take the GRE” yet. It’s just too risky. The LSAT is a winnable, tried and true method for admission at top schools.

Also this.