Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Thoughts on alcohol?

rafaelitorafaelito Alum Member
edited May 2016 in General 1063 karma
I'm studying for the September LSATs with a full-time job. Any thoughts on cutting out alcohol entirely. Do people think casually drinking negatively impacts our ability to retain information? I'm talking about drinking on the weekends (getting drunk max once) and maybe a beer or a glass or two of wine on a weekday.

I'm thinking about cutting it out entirely but it helps a lot to relax and lower anxiety. Any one else contemplating this?

Comments

• BruiserWoodsBruiserWoods Member Inactive ⭐
    1706 karma
    Ok. So. I tried cutting alcohol completely, and found that it was honestly stressing me out more than just having a drink or two every now and then. I am a few years out of college, so alcohol hits me harder the next day than it used to. I don't exceed 3 drinks per night on the nights that I do drink. But, of course, everyone's body is different.

I do find a glass of wine or a couple beers after a long study day is helpful, though.
  • Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27822 karma
    I cycle through phases with my LSAT prep which kind of dictates my answer to this.

Phase 1 is off time. I do maybe 1 PT a week to stay sharp and other than that I don’t LSAT at all. During phase 1 I can do pretty much whatever I want.

Phase 2 is study time, but like a normal person. I do my PT plus drills and Game fool proofing, I revisit curriculum if I need to, and whatever else may seem prudent. During a phase 2 period I’ll let myself have a drink or two at the end of the day if I want. No more than that though.