Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Studying for the LSAT while working full time

alyssamcc0593alyssamcc0593 Alum Member
in General 290 karma

Does anyone have any advice on staying motivated while working full time. I try to do 3-4 hours every day after work, but some days I am just so exhausted.

I started studying in March, and was planning on taking in June, but I pushed it back to September because I didn't feel ready.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• taylor.lingltaylor.lingl Alum Member
    22 karma

Following! As I am in the same boat...feeling that burn out.

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited June 2017 23929 karma

@alyssamccain0593 said:
    Does anyone have any advice on staying motivated while working full time. I try to do 3-4 hours every day after work, but some days I am just so exhausted.

I started studying in March, and was planning on taking in June, but I pushed it back to September because I didn't feel ready.

I truly, truly feel you. Nearly drove myself insane. Took a leave around Easter and did some reflecting. I won't be returning to my old position & found a more manageable position.

Re: Motivation: Hmm... Don't rely on it. Too Fleeting and you just can't control it enough for it to be reliable. You need to develop the discipline to sort of just "do it" if motivation is truly the issue. Another thing to consider is studying before work instead of after. We just naturally lose motivation and will power throughout the day, so studying in the morning might be the better play here.

Another thing that motivated me for a while were the lawyers/mentors I knew. I knew I was either going to stay working where I was or switch to law. Either way I was going to be working even more crazy hours. Part of me just kind of told myself: "If you can't handle this, don't even pursue law."