Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Taking 1st Diagnostic Prep Test

C.M. HethcoxC.M. Hethcox Member
in General 107 karma

I have no experience at all with the LSAT except for the 1st 4 lessons on here. Should I do the diagnostic test now or should I come back after I’ve done some more of the course work? I know that the point of a diagnostic is to gauge where I stand, but I don’t even know what the test looks like or what kind of questions to expect…is it worth it to bomb the first one out of inexperience or would it be more productive to wait until I see how the test questions are formatted?

Comments

• NotMyNameNotMyName Alum Member Sage
    5320 karma

Members of this community have been split on this issue at least since I joined. My own opinion is that a diagnostic so early in one's prep is not helpful because you don't even know enough to properly BR the exam; you haven't learned strategies to approach each question or practiced lawgic yet for example. I think that the June 2007 test is put to much better use by delaying your diagnostic until after completing the cc.

The arguments for it seem to be: (1) no harm no foul and (2) get a taste of the real thing.

There's something to be said for both of those points but I've said my peace. Whatever you decide, best of luck!

• C.M. HethcoxC.M. Hethcox Member
    107 karma

That's what I was thinking. I'm going to wait a few weeks and then take it. Thanks

• wrasschaertwrasschaert Member
    310 karma

I'd really encourage you to go for it. There's two possible outcomes:
    1. You bomb it
    2. You surprise yourself